CALL FOR PAPERS

SAC'05 - ACM 2005 SYMPOSIUM ON APPLIED COMPUTING
March 13-17, 2005
Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Technical Track on "Programming Languages"

  <Track Chairs>   Chang-Hyun Jo <jo@ecs.fullerton.edu>                                          

California State University, Fullerton, USA

                                    Marjan Mernik <marjan.mernik@uni-mb.si>

University of Maribor, Slovenia

                                    Barrett Bryant < bryant@cis.uab.edu>

The University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

SAC '05

Over the past nineteen years, the ACM Symposium on Applied Computing has become a primary forum for applied computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, and application developers from around the world to interact and present their work. SAC 2005 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP). For additional information, please check the SAC web page: "http://www.acm.org/conferences/sac/sac2005".

This document is also available at "http://jo.ecs.fullerton.edu/sac/sac2005" and "http://jo.ecs.fullerton.edu/sac/sac2005/sac2005-PL-CFP.pdf".

 

PROGRAMMING LANGUAGES (PL) Track  

A technical track on Programming Languages will be held at SAC'05. It will be a forum for engineers, researchers and practitioners throughout the world to share technical ideas and experiences relating to implementation and application of programming languages. Original papers and experience reports are invited in all areas of programming languages. Major topics of interest include but are not limited to the following:

 

          Compiling Techniques,

            Domain-Specific Languages,

            Formal Semantics and Syntax,

            Garbage Collection

            Language Design and Implementation,

            New Programming Language Ideas and Concepts,

            New Programming Paradigms,

            Practical Experiences with Programming Languages,

            Program Analysis and Verification,

            Program Generation and Transformation,

            Programming Languages from All Paradigms (Agent-Oriented, Aspect-Oriented, Functional, Logic,

Object-Oriented, etc.)

            Visual Programming Languages

 

GUIDELINES FOR SUBMISSION

Authors are invited to contribute original papers in all areas of experimental computing and application development relevant to the theme of the track. This includes the following categories of submissions:

1) Original and unpublished research work,
2) Reports of innovative applications to the arts, sciences, engineering, and business areas,
3) Reports of successful technology transfer to new problem domains,
4) Reports of industrial experience and demos of new innovative systems.

All submissions will be peer reviewed. Papers will be selected based on their originality, timeliness, significance, relevance and clarity of presentation. Accepted papers will be published in the symposium proceedings. Expanded versions of the accepted papers will be considered for publication in the ACM/SIGAPP quarterly Applied Computing Review. A set of selected papers, which did not get accepted as full papers, will be accepted as poster papers and will be published as extended 2-page abstracts in the symposium proceedings.

 

The following submission guidelines must be strictly followed:

·        Submit the original manuscripts in an electronic format to:  <sacpl@ecs.fullerton.edu>. The file format should be PDF. The title of the submission should be the last name of the first author (e.g., If the first author is John Smith then the submission should be titled as "smith.pdf").

·        The author(s) name(s) and address(es) must NOT appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be in the third person. This is to facilitate blind review. Only the title should be shown at the first page without the author's information.

·        A separate cover sheet should show the title of the paper, the author(s) name(s) and affiliation(s), and the address (including e-mail, telephone, and FAX) to which correspondence should be sent. This sheet should also be submitted in an electronic format to <sacpl@ecs.fullerton.edu> and it should be titled as "smith-cover.pdf".

·        The body of paper should not exceed 4,000 words (approximately 15 pages, double-spaced, 12-point size). You may refer to the final copy format at "http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html". The total number of final pages without any extra page charge will be 5.

·        An abstract including the title of the paper at the beginning (without having any author’s information) as a separate text file should be submitted. It should be titled as "smith-abstract.txt"

·        Submit a cover page (PDF format), a manuscript (PDF format) and an abstract (TXT format) as attachments to your email. Your submission email text should include the author(s) name(s), the title, and a contact point (name and email address) you prefer.

·        All submissions must be received by September 3, 2004.

 

IMPORTANT DATES

September 3, 2004:  Paper Submissions
October 15, 2004:  Author Notification
November 5, 2004: Camera-Ready Copy
March 13-17, 2005: Conference at Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

 

The SAC 2005 Programming Language Track Program Committee Members

Ancona, Massimo - Università degli Studi di Genova, Italy - ancona@disi.unige.it

Auguston, Mikhail - Naval Postgraduate School, USA - auguston@cs.nps.navy.mil

Cheung, Shing-chi - Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China - sccheung@cs.ust.hk

Debray, Saumya K. - University of Arizona, USA - debray@CS.Arizona.EDU

Doh, Kyung-Goo - Hanyang University, Korea - doh@cse.hanyang.ac.kr

Gabbrielli, Maurizio - Universita' di Bologna, Italy - gabbri@cs.unibo.it

Harris, Tim - Cambridge University, UK - Tim.Harris@cl.cam.ac.uk

Heering, Jan - CWI, The Netherlands - Jan.Heering@cwi.nl

Jeffery, Clint - New Mexico State University, USA - jeffery@cs.nmsu.edu

Johnstone, Adrian - Royal Holloway, University of London, UK - adrian@cs.rhul.ac.uk

Leung, Ho-fung - The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China - lhf@cse.cuhk.edu.hk

Lins, Rafael Dueire - Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil - rdl@ee.ufpe.br

Logozzo, Francesco - Ecole Polytechnique, France - Francesco.Logozzo@stix.polytechnique.fr

Martinez Lopez, Pablo E. - National University of La Plata, Argentina - fidel@sol.info.unlp.edu.ar

Meijer, Erik - Microsoft Research, USA - emeijer@microsoft.com

Michaelson, Greg - Heriot-Watt University, UK - greg@macs.hw.ac.uk 

Pareja-Flores, Crist'obal - Complutense University of Madrid, Spain - cpareja@sip.ucm.es

Saraiva, João - Universidade do Minho, Portugal - jas@di.uminho.pt

Sloane, Tony - Macquarie University, Australia - asloane@ics.mq.edu.au

Wile, Dave - Teknowledge Corp., USA - dwile@teknowledge.com

Winkler, Juergen - Friedrich Schiller University, Germany - jwinkler@acm.org